Let’s talk about Tom Delonge

I feel personally attacked when someone talks negatively about Tom Delonge. Box Car Racer is my absolute favorite side project of any of the Blink members, mostly because Tom always will be my boy, no matter how many alien conspiracies he comes up with. So when he started hinting at  BCR reunion via Twitter, my little black heart started to flutter.

Tom recently sent out this tweet: Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 9.46.22 AM

And all the BCR fan girls rejoiced! Tom sparked this conversation after “favoriting” and “retweeting” other fans begging for a new album. There were some great suggestions by his followers for guests on said album, including Kellin Quinn (Sleeping with Sirens), Anthony Green (yes please) and Ian MacKaye of Fugazi, who Tom has said influenced him to start BCR and its darker sound.

BCR was formed by Tom, Travis Barker and David Kennedy (Angels & Airwaves), and only put out one self titled album back in 2002. In the years since, Blink has broken up, gotten back together, broken up again, then finally adding Matt Skiba (Alkaline Trio) as Tom’s indefinite replacement. The entire Blink crew has gone through some rough patches over the years that led to the “falling out” of Tom with his two original bandmates. It wasn’t until recently when Tom started hinting at a reconciliation–but only with Travis.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 10.19.18 AM.png

I’m not sure that “ha” really means much of anything. But either way, the conversation has been started and I am hopeful that something good will come out of this. I’d be really disappointed if nothing happened, after the amount of hints and hype Tom has given us via Twitter.

For the record; I’m on Tom’s side in all of this. Do I think he left Blink in shitty way? Yes. But I also think that Skiba should’ve replaced Tom for the tour in 2015, and then been done with it. Blink without Tom isn’t Blink. Blink with Matt Skiba isn’t Blink. If Travis, Mark & Skiba wanted to continue to make music, I wish they would’ve started something new.

I saw “Blink” this summer with ADTR and The All American Rejects, and I was just so damn disappointed. Their sound is obviously different, but I realized after that show that Tom was what I loved most about Blink. I’ve given up on the thought of a real Blink reunion ever happening, so the slightest chance that BCR will come together for an album, or even just a track, has me sitting on the edge of my seat.

Tom–I still love you. I’ll talk UFO’s with you all day every day ❤

C7ILHVaVAAQCIAg

   Personal fan art courtesy of @madisontaylorjackson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

