WTF FOB

This is not a Fall Out Boy appreciation post.

Today, our boys in FOB dropped a new single that our ears certainly weren’t ready for. The new single titled Young & Menace sounds like traditional Patrick Stump, with a Chainsmokers backtrack. The verses are a little unoriginal, dare I say “basic”, with too much synth and a heavy, repetitive electronic chorus. I love a good guitar riff, but with the synth, dramatic drums, and those pitchy chords all at once, it’s just too much to handle.

Their last two albums have been more commercial, but I could still hear them and recognize that it was Fall Out Boy. But if it wasn’t for Stumps recognizable vocals, I would have thought this song was a side project with another electronic duo.

If you are a first time listener, or hear the track on the radio, you might like it. It’s not a bad song. The beat isn’t horrible, and the trap undertone is actually pretty catchy. It just isn’t Fall Out Boy. I am very confused on what genre this song would be categorized under. It is certainly not rock, punk or pop. Is this Synth-Pop? Electronic? Trap? Your guess is as good as mine. I understand the need for change in style, in terms of the evolution of the music, but to me this was an entirely different band. How can you even compare “Sugar we’re going down” to the tragedy that is “Young & Menace”? Can you tell I’m disappointed, or do I need to make it more apparent?

It physically pains me to write a negative review on a band I once praised as a second God.  I hope that the remainder of the album does not follow in Young & Menace’s footsteps and that this is a one of a kind track. I guess we will just have to wait until September 15th to find out. Until then, I pray for repentance from the Pop Punk gods for saying such negative words about my elders.

If you haven’t seen the music video for this gem, you can check that out here:

Leave a Reply

